sessional and expense allowances, the latter being not taxable. Additional annual allowances of \$4,000 (beyond the above-noted sessional allowance) are provided to each Leader of a Party having a recognized membership of twelve or more persons in the House of Commons other than the Prime Minister and the member occupying the recognized position as Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons and, likewise, to the Chief Government Whip and to the Chief Opposition Whip in the House of Commons. The Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons each receives, besides the sessional allowance and expense allowance, a salary of \$9,000 per annum. The Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons receives a salary of \$6,000 per annum. The Speakers of the Senate and the House of Commons are also entitled to \$3,000 in lieu of residence and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons an allowance of \$1,500 in lieu of residence; these allow-The Deputy Chairman of Committees receives an annual allowance ances are not taxable. of \$2,000. Parliamentary Secretaries to the Ministers of the Crown receive an annual allowance of \$4,000 a year, in addition to their sessional and expense allowances. A motor vehicle allowance of \$2,000 is paid to each Minister of the Crown and to the recognized Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons, and a motor vehicle allowance of \$1,000 is paid to the Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons; these allowances are not taxable.

A member of Parliament contributes, by reservation, 6 p.c. of his full sessional indemnity toward his retirement allowance, which is based on five twelfths of the total contributions, paid or elected to be paid; to the widow of an ex-member is paid three fifths of the allowance paid or payable to the ex-member at the time of his death. The maximum allowance payable to an ex-member is \$9,000 per annum and the maximum payable to the widow of an ex-member is \$5,400 per annum.

Every former Prime Minister who held office for four years will receive from the Consolidated Revenue Fund an allowance of two thirds of the annual salary provided for Prime Ministers under the Salaries Act, the allowance to commence when the former Prime Minister ceases to hold office, or attains the age of 70 years, whichever is the later, and to continue during his lifetime. The widow of a Prime Minister will receive an annual payment of one third of the allowance that was being paid or that would have been paid to her husband, where he dies without receiving the allowance, such allowance to commence immediately after the death of her husband and to continue during her natural life or until her remarriage. None of these allowances is payable while the recipient is a Senator or a member of the House of Commons.

The latest revision of indemnities and allowances for members of the Senate and of the House of Commons was provided for in an amendment to the Senate and House of Commons Act and the Members of Parliament Retiring Act (SC 1963, c. 14) and became effective Apr. 8, 1963.

The Federal Franchise.—The present federal franchise laws are contained in the Canada Elections Act (SC 1960, c. 39). The franchise is conferred upon all Canadian citizens or British subjects, men and women, who have attained the age of 21 years, are ordinarily resident in the electoral district on the date of the issue of the writ ordering an election and, in the case of British subjects other than Canadian citizens, have been ordinarily resident in Canada for twelve months prior to polling day at such election. Persons denied the right to vote are:—

- (1) the Chief Electoral Officer and the Assistant Chief Electoral Officer;
- (2) judges appointed by the Governor General in Council;
- (3) the returning officer for each electoral district;
- (4) persons undergoing punishment as inmates of any penal institution for the commission of any offence;
- (5) persons restrained of their liberty or deprived of the management of their property by reason of mental disease; and
- (6) persons disqualified under any law relating to the disqualification of electors for corrupt and illegal practices.